(Note: an introduction to this series, “Body Routing Not,” can be found by clicking here.)

Today, I tried something completely different, something much more direct in disabusing Scientology Incorporated’s general public from ever seeing a “free” Dianetics film or getting a “free” Personality Test, and the results were nothing less than spectacular.

As I exited the bus at Vermont and Sunset, I quickly checked all four street corners, and found only one on which two Body Routers (“BR”) stood. I decided not to approach their target (I’ll call him “Jim”) until after the BRs had handed Jim a ticket for a “free” film or test and tried to get him to go with them to the Los Angeles Organization (“LA Org”), part of Scientology’s West Coast headquarters, at the Pacific Area Command Base (aka “PAC Base” or “Big Blue”), where Sunset Blvd. and L. Ron Hubbard Way meet. When the light turned “green,” Jim headed in my direction and I crossed the street to meet him.

“Those guys who just gave you that ticket are Scientologists,” I declared. Holding Lawrence Wright’s Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood & the Prison of Belief in front of him, I continued, “This book is an expose on Scientology. In fact, the expose can be seen on HBO this Sunday at 9:00 PM.”

“Really?” Jim asked rather thoughtfully.

“Yes,” came my answer, “and I if I was you, I’d throw that ticket out. Don’t go near Scientology.”

He looked rather convinced, so I took off down Sunset Blvd., heading west.

I noticed a gaggle of BRs at the northeast corner of L. Ron Hubbard Way and Sunset. One of the BRs had attempted to lure a victim to LA Org (I’ll him name “Tom”), who stood waiting for the light to change so he could cross Sunset. Again, with the BR just a couple of feet away, I walked right up to Tom.

“Did you know that those people who just gave you those Dianetics tickets are Scientologists?” I inquired.

“No,” Tom replied innocently. His eyes spoke otherwise, because deep down inside my statement brought to the surface the guy’s own understanding that something with the BR’s pitch didn’t seem quite right.

I held up Going Clear for him to see and pointed to it.

“This book is an expose on Scientology. A movie based on the book will be released Sunday night at 9:00 PM on HBO.”

“It will?” he asked, his eyes widening.

“Yes, and if I was you, I’d throw those tickets away. Don’t go near Scientology because all they want is your money.”

Rrriiippp!

Tom tore the Dianetics tickets in half as his jaw dropped to the ground! It looked like something had dawned on him as we spoke and had come to fruition when I mentioned the word “money.”


Comments from Tony Ortega’s Blog:

“Good job. Amazing what presenting BOTH sides of the story can do.”

“These are great results, indeed. Countering the body routers and letting people know about the identity of the routers plus Sunday’s expose WIN! It takes a lot to speak up. What a great job.”

“Well done, that’s the way to do it!”


Photos courtesy, and inspiration from, Something Can Be Done About It (Mike Rinder’s Blog), “LA Org Bodyrouting,” December 17, 2014.

