Scientology After Going Clear
Los Angeles Field Operations
April 13, 2015, 1615 Hours

Fred G. Haseney, your West Coast Correspondent reporting from the corner of Vermont Avenue and Sunset Boulevard, three blocks east of Scientology Incorporated’s (“SI”) West Coast headquarters, the Pacific Area Command Base (aka “PAC Base” or “Big Blue”). I stood “downwind,” so-to-speak, from three Body Routers (“BR”) and let their “discards” (raw public who walked away with either a “free” Dianetics film or Personality Test ticket) come my way. This is the point in my Daily Field Operations when I wear my “Body Routing Not” hat. Soon, a middle-aged lady walked toward me.

“¿Hablas Inglés, señora? (Do you speak English, ma’am?)” I asked her. She shook her head negatively as I walked with her south on Vermont.

“Scientology es muy malo.(Scientology is very bad.)” I declared, pointing at the Personality Test ticket in her hand, and at the word “Scientology” contained in the title of Lawrence Wright’s Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood & the Prison of Belief paperback that I held flat in my hand so she could easily see it.

“Oh,” she said, showing concern.

“Scientology quiere todo su dinero. Ten cuidado. (Scientology wants all of your money. Be careful.)” I warned.

“Okay,” she replied, eyes widening a bit while shaking her head affirmatively.

A few minutes later, a guy in his 30’s walked by holding a Personality Test ticket. I walked with him as he continued south on Vermont.

“Those people who gave you that ticket are Scientologists,” I stated. He looked at me rather inquiringly.

“This book,” I said, as I held up Going Clear, “is an expose on Scientology. HBO has released a movie under the same name.”

“I have,” he declared, “no interest in Scientology.”

“Excellent,” came my answer. My next stop: the PAC Base.

At the corner of L. Ron Hubbard Way and Fountain Ave., I looked up the street at the Advanced Organization of Los Angeles (“AOLA”), the American St. Hill Organization (“ASHO”), the Los Angeles Organization (“LA Org”) and the Canteen. With my camera in my hand, I crossed LRH Way, walking by a Security Guard (“SG”); I smiled and nodded my head in his direction; he did likewise. When I arrived at the front steps of the Main building (that’s the biggest of all the buildings in PAC Base; it faces Fountain, has a west and an east wing, and props up the huge “Scientology” sign), I saw about a dozen Sea Org members relaxing in the steps leading from Fountain Ave. to the Main building’s front door. As I snapped my second photograph, the SG bicycled into frame (please see the photo). Next, he “parked” in front of me, legs straddling his mountain bike.

“Hi,” he said.

“Hello,” I answered back.

“Nice day for taking pictures,” he stated.

“Uh-huh,” I replied.

“Are you interested in Scientology?” he inquired. “What’s your name?”

“My name is Fred. (His name is Alex) I joined the Sea Org in 1977, on the last day of renovations at LA Org, just before it was opened,” I answered.

“Oh, are you going to do a course?” Alex asked. This guy is totally cool, I realized. He’s the type of SG who just does his job but doesn’t do it by getting in your face or business; he’s respectful.

“No,” I replied, “I’m actually in disagreement with Miscavige’s Scientology, or ‘Scientology Incorporated’ (“SI”). Take ‘disconnection,’ for example. A Scientologist is forced to disconnect from someone who has questions or disagreements with the Church. There is nothing inherently wrong with the technology of ‘disconnection’; sometimes it’s necessary. But SI abuses it. The same goes with subject of a ‘suppressive person.’ A Scientologist who has questions or disagreements with the Church is often declared a suppressive person. There is nothing inherently wrong with the ‘suppressive person’ technology; there are some people who are suppressive.” Again, SI has abused it.

“What are you doing here today?” easy-going Alex asked.

“I’m documenting the demise of Scientology Incorporated.”

“You’re… what?” Alex asked.

“I’m documenting the demise of Scientology Incorporated and posting it to online blogs such as Tony Ortega’s and Mike Rinder’s.”

“Oh,” Alex said, adding “You’ll be okay if you stay on the sidewalk.”

“Yeah,” I answered, “I figured I’d be safe enough if I didn’t veer off the sidewalk, that’s for sure. Say,” I added, “aren’t you in one of the Angry Gay Pope’s (“AGP”) YouTube videos?” Alex smiled and shook his head affirmatively.

“I haven’t officially met a SG before, and the only one I’m really aware of is Odo, the most famous one [by AGP standards, at least]. Ah,” said I, recalling the video, “your’e the SG that the AGP said is the ‘handsome’ one!”

“Yes,” Alex said, smiling, as I headed home.


Inspired by Something Can Be Done About It (Mike Rinder’s Blog), “LA Org Bodyrouting,” December 17, 2014.

